Yoga Vita

Musings on Yoga, Life, and the Yoga Life

Ow, my butt!

Leave a comment

Ashtanga seriously busts your butt (rather literally) in a way that nothing else really does. (Except maybe cycling.) My glutes are especially sore today, and I think it’s because I’ve been working on getting more lift in Setu Bandhasana. But do I really need to? John Scott in his book Ashtanga Yoga is rolled all the way back on to his forehead and has his hips way up in the air, but super-yogi Arjuna (ashtangayoga.info) demonstrates a more modest version. Too bad Ardha Matsyendrasana is all the way in the second series; that’s the kind of stretch I need right now. No harm in just doing it, I guess.

Leave a Reply

