Yoga Vita

Musings on Yoga, Life, and the Yoga Life

Yoga Truant

Leave a comment

I decided last night that I was totally beat and would stay home this morning to do a gentler practice and work our some of the knots and tight spots that have been building up over the past few days. I ended up barely doing anything at all, or so it felt. I guess I’m feeling pretty wiped out. I practiced on Sunday this week, skipping my day of rest, and I’ve been very busy in general, so I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that my body is on strike.

Also on the subject of yoga truancy, yesterday in class, I was all the way to the finishing sequence when I suddenly realized that I had entirely skipped Garbha Pindasana, Kukkutasana, and Baddha Konasana. They had just vanished from my mind without a trace. It felt perfectly normal for me to go straight from Supta Kurmasana to Upavishta Konasana, as if that’s what I do all the time. Bizzare mental lapse. I even felt kind of guilty, as if I had skipped them on purpose. Felt like this. But the thing is, I like those postures! Why couldn’t I have forgotten something like navasana? When I expressed this idea to Z, he aptly remarked, “You can never forget navasana.” How true. Sigh.

Tomorrow will be a better day. I’ll change my ways, you’ll see.

Leave a Reply

