Yoga Vita

Musings on Yoga, Life, and the Yoga Life

On Dreams, Backbends, and Yoga Mudra

Leave a comment

Just the other night, in a dream, I did something I have never done before- – I stood up from a backbend without assistance. It was amazing. In practice the next morning, however, dreams did not become reality. I still need those two inches of plastic under my hands to get the right leverage to hoist myself up.

BUT in that same practice, I finally, miraculously grabbed both of my toes in yoga mudra, after several weeks of being totally blase about that particular posture. I had pretty much resigned myself to just being “a person with tight hips” who couldn’t do things like that. And then poof! without really trying, I bound in yoga mudra. Huh. The body works in funny ways.

backbend.jpg

But back to backbending. I just had my S.O. take a few pictures of me in a normal, non-warmed-up backbend, and it was a strange sight for me to actually see myself in a backbend- – I looked so. . . bendy. I looked like someone who should be standing up from backbends! But I guess I don’t get to decide when things happen, I just keep practicing. The whole type A thing just doesn’t work out in yoga.

– – –

Correction:  Z reminded me that a few months ago I did stand up from a backbend on my own.  Once.  What happened?  I think I just didn’t have any expectations.  But now I kind of do, and they’re getting in my way.  Well, that’s something to mull over a bit. 

Leave a Reply

