Yoga Vita

Musings on Yoga, Life, and the Yoga Life

Expect the Unexpected

6 Comments

Well, in my last post about a week ago, I proclaimed that I would do my full practice with all the twosies all week long.  Unfortunately, I ran into a few hitches in my plan.  First, I ran into Ladies’ Holiday–duh, I should have seen that coming–it’s like clockwork.  Second, however, I ran into a truly unforeseeable hitch–a mysterious yet seemingly benign neurological disease that is as of yet unnamed.  Really.  It’s quite strange–I’ve been getting waves of intense vertigo with no accompanying symptoms, besides feelings of fatigue.  I’ll just be minding my own business–sitting in my office, for example, or buying groceries–and all the sudden it feels like the room is spinning and shaking.  It feels a bit like being drunk, only without the associated pleasantness.  Sometimes it lasts all day.

brain3.gif(Not so good these days.)

So. . . in lieu of my usual health care  strategy–waiting ’til it goes away, which didn’t work this time–I actually sought a bit of professional help.  The only professional help I can afford, that is–community acupuncture.  Having never received acupuncture before, I went in not expecting much.  Not expecting anything really, because although I have some faith in the principles of acupuncture and Chinese medicine, I’ve heard that it sometimes takes multiple treatments before any noticeable effects take place.  Turns out, it was AMAZING.  The acupuncturist set me up in this big cozy reclining chair and stuck me full of needles (ok, just 9 total) and left me to marinate in the needley goodness.  For the first 20 minutes or so, I just felt like I was rocking in a boat–I was feeling especially dizzy that day–but then it just stopped.  Just like that, the waters calmed.  I slowly began feeling more energetic and more clear-headed than I had been in days.  The acupuncturist came and de-needled me, I put on my coat and scarf, put my $25 into the pay-box, and I walked away feeling fantastic.  The clarity only lasted about 24 hours, but it was a great relief.  Thank you, CommuniChi!  I’ll be going back this week.

I’ve been doing some old-ladyish yin yoga at home, but this morning I finally felt able to return to yoga and do my twosies.   I tried to generally take it easy and be careful about my neck, a possible misalignment of which I suspect may be the source of my vertigo problems.  So far so good.

6 thoughts on “Expect the Unexpected

  1. sorry to hear you’re having this problem with your brain….ironic though, isn’t it, with the Second Series? Any connection there?

  2. yeah, i’m pretty sure at this point that second series makes you crazy. 🙂

  3. Wow, I want to check out CommuniChi!

    I’ve had weird problems that were due to muscle tension in my neck. My hearing was somehow affected but that problem went away after some manipulations by a neurological chiropractor. My balance was poor for a while but that’s mostly fixed too. It’s remarkable how “simple” muscular issues affect functions that bear no intuitive relationship to the area that’s tense or painful or whatever.

  4. Sounds a lot like an inner ear infection

  5. Carl- – yes, CommuniChi is rad! And it has a cute name to boot.

    Samantha- – You’re probably right. I took a peek at WebMD (should have gone there first) and it generally fits the bill. Lucky for me, inner ear infections generally fall under the wait-and-it-goes away column! Thank’s for the tip.

  6. I’ve known at least two people that had persistent inner ear infections. Their ear infections were so persistent, in fact, that neither knew exactly when they began and just kind of accepted the symptoms as part of life. Both professed surprise when they learned from their doctors that they had such infections.

Leave a Reply

