Yoga Vita

Musings on Yoga, Life, and the Yoga Life

Mini-Practice

Leave a comment

If you’ve been reading this blog at all over the last few months, you can tell I’ve been struggling to keep my home yoga practice alive while being temporarily teacherless in addition to over-scheduled in other areas of my life. So recently, in the midst of feeling overwhelmed with life, skimping on my yoga practice and feeling kind of down on myself about it, I finally stopped and asked myself what advice I would give to a yoga student in a similar position. Without hesitation, my mind responded, set realistic goals for yourself. Duh. This is what I would advise for anyone else, so why do I always try to hold myself up to a different standard? So I told myself to set up a reasonable practice, go with it, and don’t get all caught up in the results you want for yourself. Abhyasa vairagyabhyam tat nirodhah. Simple as that. That’s the way to keep on keepin on.

So to be fair to myself right now, I’ve given myself permission to have 1-hour practices on 4 weekdays and one longer practice on the weekend. If I do my whole practice up to my 2nd series poses, it takes about 2 hours, so I’ve had to be a little creative in creating something that fits into an hour, is still ashtanga-ish, and allows me to get to my whole range of poses. Thus was born the mini-practice. So here’s what I’m doing these days:

Surya A (3)

Surya B

Padangusthasana

Trikonasana A

Parsvaknonasana A & B

Prasarita Padottanasana A & C

Parsvottanasana

Utthita Hasta Padangustasana series or Virabhadrasanas

Followed by a 7- to 10-pose chunk of primary or secondary- – I haven’t quite figured out a system for this.

Urdhva Dhanurasana

Sarvangasana series or Sirsasana

Yoga Mudra

Savasana

The downside of this set-up is that it is all too easy for me to leave out poses I dislike (navasana) to make time for poses I do like.   But maybe that’s okay right now and I just need to chillax.   This shortened practice is working for me right now- – epic 2-hr practices will have to wait for another day.

Leave a Reply

